Newbie, deciding between Mongoose Stat or Ledge

Information and reviews abut 29ers sold by the bigbox stores now
Forum rules
Be polite and courteous! Stay on topic!

Newbie, deciding between Mongoose Stat or Ledge

Postby torred 3.5 » Sat May 16, 2015 8:43 am

Hi all I wanted to get a 29 inch bike for some time now and have narrowed it down between the mongoose stat and ledge at walmart. the price difference between the two is insignificant so that's not a deciding factor for me.

I'm no bike expert so I'll lay out what type of riding I do, mostly paved riding and unpaved dirt road riding occasionally. I just csme from a mongoose xr-75 which I had for 5 years and it was showing its age so I sold it.

So, whats the better choice for me? Does the dual suspension on the ledge provide superior ride over the stat? Which one is better built? does the stat having dual disc brakes provide an advantage in stopping Compared to the ledge? I have yet to see these bikes in person but before I go to my local walmart I wanna see what any owners and or experts of the bikes feel about them and what's the better choice for me. thanks in advance for your advice!
torred 3.5

Re: Newbie, deciding between Mongoose Stat or Ledge

Postby Fuzzyplums » Sat May 16, 2015 3:58 pm