Genesis n9ne or Mongoose stat 4.2

Information and reviews abut 29ers sold by the bigbox stores now
Forum rules
Be polite and courteous! Stay on topic!

Genesis n9ne or Mongoose stat 4.2

Postby damian015 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 11:57 am

So Im looking at the Genesis N9NE and the Mongoose Stat 4.2 and Im not sure what the big difference is other than rear disc on the Stat. Im new to this so help is greatly appreciated before getting one. Also could someone please explain wTH is the difference between the regular stat and the stat 4.2? Could not find that info anywhere. Links below:

Regular Stat:
================
http://www.walmart.com/msharbor/ip/29-M ... e/21191093

Stat 4.2:
==============
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Mongoose-Stat ... e/34931887

Genesis N9NE:
=============
http://www.walmart.com/ip/29-Genesis-2- ... y/23974640
damian015

Re: Genesis n9ne or Mongoose stat 4.2

Postby Falkon45 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 7:26 pm

The Genesis is slightly bigger, with a more cross country geometry. The stat is more dirt jump, but okay for xc(cross country). The stat had rear disc, where the Genesis doesn't even have provisions to go rear disc without an adapter. I think the mongoose has the better of the tourney components, but still crappy twist shifters. The older stats are known to lose a crank arm. I think that was solved with the 4.2.
Falkon45

Postby 6sharky9 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:55 pm

Considering the cost for an adapter to convert the rear to disc id would go with the STAT also.

You may or may not like grip shifters and those arent the best of quality (from shimano) as far as grip shifters go but its fairly inexpensive to convert to a trigger shifter or better grip shiffters as opposed to converting to a rear disc brake on the genesis.

STAT 4.2 gets my choice as well
2014 Motobecane 550HT (work in progress)
6sharky9

Postby damian015 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 11:18 pm