New bike, <$200

This is the standard size mountain bike (MTB)
Forum rules
Be polite and courteous! Stay on topic!

New bike, <$200

Postby nonoitall » Mon Jun 22, 2015 12:44 am

It's been a couple years since my last bike was stolen, and I'm thinking I'd really like to get back into biking. I'm 5'9", male, and I'm not a bike connoisseur. I'm mainly using it for getting around town, but occasionally for going out on trails and long rides. It's my first time really shopping for a bike myself though, so I thought I'd see what you guys thought would be best. My budget is pretty tight and stretched over several items I'm currently needing to buy, so I'd really like to go as inexpensive as possible while still getting a decent bike. Definitely no more than $200, but closer to $150 would be better. I've never had any sort of suspension before, but I kind of would like something that would absorb bumps a little bit.

I've only ever had 26ers. Don't know if a 27.5 or a 29 would be a better choice, but I'm used to 26ers, so that's what I've been focusing on. From the research I've done, they're the more nimble and maneuverable of the wheel sizes, albeit less efficient going over bumps and maintaining straight runs, and I think the maneuverability of my previous bikes appeals to me. If you think I should consider a different size given my usage and budget, please mention it though.

I've been looking mainly at two models:
I had a Schwinn once as a kid and remember it being a good bike. Additionally, I think I'd prefer hardtail (on the Schwinn) over full suspension (on the Genesis). But I also see the V2100 being praised on here quite a bit. Any thoughts on how these compare?

I also saw these two, but my (admittedly naive) impression was that they might be of inferior quality to the previous two models:

Thanks for any advice, and if there are other models you think I should look into, please point them out!
nonoitall

Re: New bike, <$200