Mongoose Malus 2017 Academy Sports Mods and Build

Wide-tire bicycles with flotation are great in snow or on sand.
Forum rules
Be polite... stay on topic.

Mongoose Malus 2017 Academy Sports Mods and Build

Postby Tomcat65 » Sun May 07, 2017 7:39 pm

So this is on sale at Academy Sports:
http://www.academy.com/shop/pdp/mongoose-mens-malus-26-in-7-speed-fat-tire-cruiser-bicycle#repChildCatid=4059684
10742718.jpg
Mongoose Malus 2017
10742718.jpg (33.51 KiB) Viewed 831 times

Around $200.00, I bought it and I was on my way. With all I've seen about the Dolomite, and my own experience with the single speed Brutus, I was expecting the same with this..

But it's different

I studied the pic pretty hard, noticed the drilled rims, and I started looking closer. This bike has a few refinements that I really like.
On the scales here at home, 2 different scales tell the same story. 43lb without the kickstand.That's 5lb less than the single speed Brutus.
The tapered fork looks awesome, and could be lighter than the old straight stock fork.
The steel seat tube is knurled all the way down, and it's plenty long enough to accommodate my long legs. Once set, I don't see how it could go anywhere.
The shifter, brake levers and 700mm steel handlebar is all crap, but the stem is a short and strong 60mm. The 700mm handlebar is awesome compared to a lot of the single speed fatbikes.
The rear derailleur is a Shimano Tourney, not high end by any means, but not the flat unbranded version I've been seeing so much lately.
The disc brake calipers use the square Shimano style pads, and I believe an upgrade to a larger disc would improve braking substantially.