JazzOne's Build Thread: Mongoose Seek'r 27.5

The industry is coming out with new riding formats and 27.5 looks like a keeper. Here's where you talk it over with other riders.
Forum rules
Be polite! Try to stay on topic. :)

JazzOne's Build Thread: Mongoose Seek'r 27.5

Postby JazzOne » Wed Jun 04, 2014 9:11 am

This forum has been tremendously helpful to me, and I am happy to share pics of my build.

My girlfriend Tiff and I have been looking for ways to stay in shape. I used to be a jogger, but she hates jogging, and I'm not crazy about it. So, we decided to buy some bikes.

I had been itching to buy a bike for a few years. I'm a sports-car kind of guy, so I was looking at road bikes, and I had my heart set on a Schwinn Varsity 1200. Tiff is more of a 4x4 off-road kind of gal, so she wasn't too fond of the road bike idea, and we settled on some mountain bikes instead. We looked on craigslist, and we visited the local bike stores. But we just couldn't justify $800 right off the bat for a new hobby that we might not enjoy. So, we settled on a couple Mongoose bikes from our local BB stores. Tiff bought an FS Mongoose Detour 26er, and I bought an HT Mongoose Seek'r 27.5. The Seek'r weighed in at 35 pounds with the reflectors and kickstand. I'd be elated if I could get the weight under 30 pounds.

Here are a couple pics from our maiden voyage with the lovely Texas blue bonnets in full bloom.

Mongoose Tiff.jpg
Mongoose Tiff.jpg (127.08 KiB) Viewed 2104 times

Mongoose Keith.jpg
Mongoose Keith.jpg (239.97 KiB) Viewed 2104 times

This next picture was taken at the Austin greenbelt. The descent was tough riding for a couple newbs. But I did learn one thing: Tiff is fearless! lol

Greenbelt Trail.jpg
Greenbelt Trail.jpg (166.24 KiB) Viewed 2104 times